Oregon Car Insurance Laws

What You Need to Know About Local Insurance Laws

Oregon law requires all vehicle owners to register their vehicle with the Department of Motor Vehicles and obtain insurance. At the very least, drivers must have liability insurance, which covers damages if they cause an accident. Liability coverage is important to have because Oregon is considered an "at-fault" state, meaning that whoever caused the car accident is held responsible to pay for the damages. Even if you were found partially to blame, you can still be expected to pay for some percentage.

Have questions about car insurance laws in Oregon? Call Angel Law, P.C. today to reach an experienced Portland car accident attorney.

Whether you have been hit by an uninsured driver in Portland or had lacking insurance yourself, you need to get legal counsel right away. Consult a dedicated car accident lawyer from Angel Law, P.C.! We are your best asset for defense if you are being held liable for causing a car accident or need to seek a claim against another.

The Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance

When obtaining liability insurance, you must have a policy that covers a legal limit for personal injury, property damage, and uninsured motorists. The state also requires you to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, which will cover at least $15, 000.

These are the additional minimum amounts that your policy must cover:

  • $10,000 for any property damage
  • $25,000 for an uninsured motorist, injury, or death
  • $50,000 for an injury to an uninsured motorist or multiple drivers

While these are the legal minimum requirements, you can always opt for a policy that offers more coverage. If you need assistance, talk to a Portland car accident lawyer to get trusted legal advice.

Don't get caught driving without auto insurance! Going without insurance can leave you vulnerable; you can face huge fines, license suspension, and vehicle impounding. You will be forced to file an SR-22 form for the next three years to maintain the privilege to drive as well.

If you need to find answers, schedule your free case consultation with our personal injury lawyer today!